top of page
  • India Wallis

WAAX Announce Huge Tour For New Album 'At Least I'm Free'

Ahead of the release of their highly anticipated second studio album At Least I’m Free available Friday 12 August via Dew Process, WAAX has announced a mammoth 22-date national album tour for October - December. Kicking off on Thursday 6 October in Canberra, the Meanjin based four-piece will perform across the country before wrapping on Saturday 3 December in Torquay. Tickets are on sale now.


“We cannot wait to see everyone out on the road, it’s going to be so special. We didn’t get a chance to tour our last album so this one will make up for lost time! It will be a super exciting immersive world for our community to party in,” says frontwoman Maz DeVita of the tour.

Image Credit: Finnian Mullen


This extensive tour follows on from their sold-out national Dangerous tour in April and May as well as recent dates as special guest for The Amity Affliction. Maz also joined Northeast Party House on stage at Splendour In The Grass for a riotous cover of Linkin Park’s One Step Closer.


On At Least I’m Free, WAAX teamed up with the production team behind their debut breakout album Big Grief - Bernard Fanning (Powderfinger) and Grammy Award-Winner Nick DiDia (Rage Against The Machine). The album features recent single Read Receipts, the Queensland Music Award winning single Most Hated Girl, Help Me Hell, and the Linda Perry co-write Dangerous, in addition to some fresh collaborations, including US rock superstar K.Flay on the standout No Doz.


You might consider At Least I’m Free something like a second debut album for WAAX — a creative and emotional rebirth that’s resulted in some of the band’s finest, punchiest songs ever. Awash in samples and programmed beats as well as gargantuan riffs and, of course, DeVita’s spine-tingling howl, it’s a record that telegraphs the band’s ambition to step beyond ‘Australian rock’ and into a weirder, wilder landscape. Listening to At Least I’m Free, that ambition doesn’t feel misplaced. WAAX have been to hell and back and, now, they’re charging forward — with clear eyes, a fighting spirit, and, most of all, the freedom they’ve always craved.




AT LEAST I’M FREE TOUR DATES

Presented by triple j, Unified Music Group & Select Music

Tickets are on sale now HERE

Special guests to be announced


Thursday 6 October - Kambri, Canberra ACT

Friday 7 October - Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW

Saturday 8 October - Unibar, Wollongong NSW

Thursday 13 October - Pub Rock Diner, Devonport TAS

Friday 14 October - Royal Oak, Launceston TAS

Saturday 15 October - Altar, Hobart, TAS

Thursday 20 October - The Northern, Byron Bay NSW

Friday 21 October - Hoey Moey, Coffs Harbour NSW

Saturday 22 October - Burleigh Bazaar, Gold Coast QLD

Friday 4 November - The Tivoli, Brisbane QLD

Saturday 5 November - Eleven, Sunshine Coast QLD

Thursday 10 November - Lion Arts Factory, Adelaide SA

Friday 11 November - Freo Social, Fremantle WA

Saturday 12 November - Prince Of Wales, Bunbury WA

Friday 18 November - The Cambridge, Newcastle NSW

Saturday 19 November - Sunken Monkey, Erina NSW

Friday 25 November - Seabreeze Hotel, Mackay QLD

Saturday 26 November - The Warehouse, Townsville QLD

Sunday 27 November - Edgehill Tavern, Cairns QLD

Thursday 1 December - Volta - Ballarat VIC

Friday 2 December - 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC

Saturday 3 December - Torquay Hotel, Torquay VIC


AT LEAST I’M FREE – TRACK-LISTING:

1. Mermaid Beach

2. Read Receipts

3. A Man Like Me

4. No Doz

5. Most Hated Girl

6. Beam Me Up

7. Dangerous

8. Jeff On The Streets

9. Help Me Hell

10. Same Bitch

11. Whoever


MORE INFO:

0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page