top of page
  • Brett Wood

Death Cab See Foxglove Through The Clearcut

Death Cab for Cutie have released new track Foxglove Through The Clearcut . Featuring meditative instrumentation and moving spoken word elements that ultimately crescendo into a sweeping outro, the song arrives accompanied by a striking lyric video designed by frequent visual collaborator Juliet Bryant (Justin Vernon, Japanese Breakfast, Laura Jane Grace).

“Foxglove is by far the most personal song on the record. While I was writing it, I thought I was merely the narrator. But the longer I sat with it, I realised I was both the protagonist AND the narrator.” Ben Gibbard

Sonically the song has similarities with their earlier work, think Plans and Transatlanticism. Swirling guitars and a steady rhythm section driving the song along. Gibbard's spoken word verses are complemented by a melodic chorus. The introspective lyrics sit well with the aural mood of the track. It's sensitive yet powerful. This track will be one of those that grows on you over time. And they are the best kind of songs.

Foxglove Through The Clearcut follows “Here to Forever,” which has amassed tremendous critical acclaim, with Stereogum hailing it: “a grand and stirring rocker, one that mixes the soft-eyed sensitivity of the band’s early days with their arena-sized major-label work.”

The first song to be released off the album – Roman Candles – arrived with a (quite literally) explosive one-take music video directed by Lance Bangs (Sonic Youth, Nirvana).

All three songs are lifted off the band’s highly-anticipated tenth studio album Asphalt Meadows, due out Friday 16th September. Asphalt Meadows was produced by GRAMMY® Award-winner John Congleton (St. Vincent, Sharon Van Etten, Wallows). Pre-orders are available HERE.


  1. I Don’t Know How I Survive

  2. Roman Candles

  3. Asphalt Meadows

  4. Rand McNally

  5. Here to Forever

  6. Foxglove Through The Clearcut

  7. Pepper

  8. I Miss Strangers

  9. Wheat Like Waves

  10. Fragments From The Decade

  11. I’ll Never Give Up On You




bottom of page